LONDON BOROUGH OF TOWER HAMLETS

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

WEDNESDAY, 26 MAY 2010

COUNCIL MEMBERSHIP, REVIEW OF PROPORTIONALITY AND ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMITTEES AND PANELS

REPORT OF THE SERVICE HEAD. DEMOCRATIC SERVICES

1. SUMMARY

- 1.1 This report sets out the membership of the Council following the elections held on 6 May 2010 and reviews proportionality as required by section 15 of the Local Government & Housing Act 1989 ('The 1989 Act'). The report further recommends the establishment of committees and panels as set out in the constitution and proposes the allocation of places on those committees and panels between the political groups on the Council.
- 1.2 The nominations of the groups for membership of those committees and panels in accordance with the allocation of places; and certain other bodies not covered by the proportionality rules, will follow at agenda item 10.
- 1.3 Part 4 of the constitution states that the Annual Council Meeting will establish an Overview & Scrutiny Committee, a Standards Committee and such other committees/panels as it considers appropriate to deal with matters which are neither Executive Functions nor reserved to the Council. The committees, panels and other bodies appointed by the Council are listed at Part 3 of the constitution

2. RECOMMENDATIONS

- 2.1 That the Council note the membership of the Authority following the Council elections on 6 May 2010 as set out at Appendix A; and the review of proportionality as at section 3 of the report overleaf.
- 2.2 That committees and panels be established for the Municipal Year 2010/11, and places be allocated on those committees and panels, as set out at paragraph 3.4 overleaf.
- 2.3 That part 3 of the Council's constitution be amended as necessary to reflect the changes agreed to the membership of committees and panels.

3. BACKGROUND

- 3.1 The membership of Tower Hamlets Council following the local elections held on 6 May 2010 is listed at Appendix A to this report, showing for each Councillor the ward represented and the political group of which he/she is a member
- 3.2 Section 15(1) of the 1989 Act requires the Council at, or as soon as practicable after, the Annual Meeting to carry out a review to determine the allocation to the political groups of seats on the committees/panels of the Council. The principles which must be adopted are:
 - (i) that all seats are not allocated to the same political group;
 - (ii) that the majority of seats go to the political group with the majority on the Council;
 - (iii) that subject to (i) and (ii) the number of seats on the total of all the ordinary committees/panels of the authority allocated to each group bears the same proportion to the proportion on the full Council; and
 - (iv) that subject to the above three principles, the number of seats on each ordinary committee/panel of the authority allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the proportion on the full Council.
- 3.3 Following the Council elections on 6 May, notice has been received in accordance with the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 that the following groups have been constituted:-

Group	seats	%
Labour	41	80.39
Conservative	8	15.69
Liberal Democrat*	1	1.96
Respect*	1	1.96
Total	51	100 00

^{*} NB: For the purposes of the 1989 Act an individual councillor cannot constitute a 'political group'. However in the interests of inclusion and good governance it is recommended that the Council allocate committee places to the individual Liberal Democrat and Respect members as overleaf.

3.4 The Council is recommended to establish the committees and panels listed below for the municipal year 2010/11. The principles at paragraph 3.2 above have been applied where necessary as closely as is reasonably

practicable in arriving at the following proposed allocation of places on those committees and panels:

(a) Committees/panels covered by the requirement for proportionality:

Committee/panel	Total	Labour	Conserv- ative	Liberal Democrat	Respect
Overview & Scrutiny Committee (plus 5 co-optees)	9	6	1	1	1
Health Scrutiny Panel	7	6	1	-	-
Appeals Committee	7	6	1	-	-
Audit Committee	7	5	1	1	-
Development Committee	7	6	1	-	-
Strategic Development Committee	7	6	1	-	-
General Purposes Committee	7	6	1	-	-
Human Resources Committee	7	6	1	-	-
Licensing Committee	15	11	3	-	1
Pensions Committee	7	6	1	-	-

(b) Committee not covered by the requirement for proportionality:

	Conserv- ative	Liberal Democrat	Respect
3	2	-	-
	3		

- 3.5 The size of some of the committees/panels listed above varies from that which applied during 2009/10 and appropriate amendments will therefore be required to part 3 of the Council's constitution.
- 4. CONCURRENT REPORT OF THE ASST. CHIEF EXECUTIVE (LEGAL)
- 4.1 The legal position is set out in the main body of the report.
- 5. COMMENTS OF THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER
- 5.1 There are no direct financial implications arising from this report.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT, 2000 (SECTION 97)
LIST OF "BACKGROUND PAPERS" USED IN THE PREPARATION OF THIS REPORT

Brief description of "background paper"

Name and telephone number of holder and address where open to inspection

None.

APPENDIX A

MEMBERSHIP OF TOWER HAMLETS COUNCIL – MAY 2010

Name	Ward	Political Group
Stephanie Eaton	Bethnal Green North	Liberal Democrat
Carlo Gibbs	Bethnal Green North	Labour
Zenith Rahman	Bethnal Green North	Labour
Mizanur Chaudhury	Bethnal Green South	Labour
Sirajul Islam	Bethnal Green South	Labour
Lesley Pavitt	Bethnal Green South	Labour
Tim Archer	Blackwall & Cubitt Town	Conservative
Peter Golds	Blackwall & Cubitt Town	Conservative
Gloria Thienel	Blackwall & Cubitt Town	Conservative
Marc Francis	Bow East	Labour
Carli Harper-Penman	Bow East	Labour
Ahmed Adam Omer	Bow East	Labour
Ann Jackson	Bow West	Labour
Anwar Khan	Bow West	Labour
Joshua Peck	Bow West	Labour
Khales Uddin Ahmed	Bromley By Bow	Labour
Rania Khan	Bromley By Bow	Labour
Helal Uddin	Bromley By Bow	Labour
Ohid Ahmed	East India & Lansbury	Labour
Rajib Ahmed	East India & Lansbury	Labour
Shiria Khatun	East India & Lansbury	Labour
Craig Aston	Limehouse	Conservative
Lutfa Begum	Limehouse	Labour
David Edgar	Limehouse	Labour
D (: 1111; A)	NA'' E 1001 E	1 1
Rofique Uddin Ahmed	Mile End & Globe Town	Labour
Bill Turner	Mile End & Globe Town	Labour
Amy Whitelock	Mile End & Globe Town	Labour
Rachael Saunders	Mile End East	Labour
Kosru Uddin	Mile End East	Labour
Motin Uz-Zaman	Mile End East	Labour
Moun of Laman	Will Elia East	Luboui
Zara Davis	Millwall	Conservative
Maium Miah	Millwall	Conservative
David Snowdon	Millwall	Conservative
- aria chorrach		331,001 valivo

Name	Ward	Political Group
Alibor Choudhury	Shadwell	Labour
Rabina Khan	Shadwell	Labour
Harun Miah	Shadwell	Respect
Helal Abbas	Spitalfields & Banglatown	Labour
Shelina Akhtar	Spitalfields & Banglatown	Labour
Lutfur Rahman	Spitalfields & Banglatown	Labour
Judith Gardiner	St Dunstan's & Stepney Green	Labour
Oliur Rahman	St Dunstan's & Stepney Green	Labour
Abdal Ullah	St Dunstan's & Stepney Green	Labour
Shafiqul Haque	St Katharine's & Wapping	Labour
Denise Jones	St Katharine's & Wapping	Labour
Emma Jones	St Katharine's & Wapping	Conservative
Kabir Ahmed	Weavers	Labour
Anna Lynch	Weavers	Labour
Mohammed Abdul Mukit	Weavers	Labour
MBE		
Shahed Ali	Whitechapel	Labour
Abdul Asad	Whitechapel	Labour
Aminur Khan	Whitechapel	Labour